The SSC conducts exams annually to recruit candidates in various departments, organizations, offices under Govt. of India. The SSC Syllabus for most of the exams keeps changing at an interval of a few years. Candidates need to have updated data on the SSC Exams before going ahead with the application form filling.

Hence, this article will help the candidates understand the SSC syllabus and the latest SSC exam-pattern properly. Candidates appearing for exams conducted by the Staff Selection Commission can download the latest SSC Syllabus PDF provided in the article.

SSC CGL Syllabus

Before getting into the SSC Syllabus for CGL exam, the Exam Pattern needs to be understood.

The SSC CGL EXAM will be conducted in four tiers as indicated below:


  • Tier I- Computer Based Examination
  • Tier II- Computer Based Examination
  • Tier III- Pen and Paper Mode (Descriptive paper)
  • Tier IV- Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test (wherever applicable)/ Document Verification.


The table below gives an idea about the SSC CGL Exam Pattern:

Tier Subject No. of Questions Maximum Marks Time Allowed
Tier-I General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 60 Minutes(Total)


For VH/OH (afflicted with Cerebral Palsy/Deformity in writing hand-80 Minutes)

General Awarness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Comprehension 25 50
Tier-II Paper-1 Quantitative Abilities 100 200 120 Minutes(for each paper)


For VH/OH (afflicted with Cerebral Palsy/Deformity in writing hand-160 Minutes)

Paper-2 English language & Comprehension 200 200
Paper-3 Statistics 100 200
Paper-4 General Studies(Finance & Economics) 100 200

Tier III SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Tier Mode of Exam Scheme of Exam Maximum Marks Time Allowed
Tier-III Pen & Paper Mode Descriptive Paper in Hindi/English
(Writing of Essays, Precis, Applications,etc)
100 60 Minutes

for VH/OH (afflicted with Cerebral Palsy/Deformity in writing hand-80 Minutes)